Key Information




The University of Derby, formerly known as Derby College, is a public university in the city of Derby, England. It traces its history back to the establishment of the Derby Diocesan Institution for the Training of Schoolmistresses in 1851. It gained university status in 1992.

The university provides over 300 study programmes at undergraduate level. Undergraduate programmes as well as short courses, foundation degrees and postgraduate degrees cover most academic disciplines and sub-disciplines. Currently the university is home to around 34,000 students in all areas of study.

The university has a range of resources and facilities available to all students and staff, including: lecture theatres; Union of Students’ facilities; a bus service operating at and between the campuses; Chaplaincy and facilities for faith, meditation and prayer; indoor and outdoor sports facilities; cafes and food outlets; wellbeing centres and support; Careers and Employability services and centres; and a University Library service.

The residences for Derby students are based in the University Quarter between the Kedleston Road, Markeaton Street and Britannia Mill sites and the centre of Derby.



Fees and Scholarships


Other Facts

Scroll to Top