Key Information




Solent University is a public university based in Southampton, United Kingdom. Its main campus is located on East Park Terrace near the city centre and the maritime hub of Southampton.

Solent University has three primary locations: City, Warsash and Timsbury Lake. The City campus is in the centre of Southampton, on the east side of East Park. This campus broadly includes the Sir James Matthews building, which is situated on the far side of the park. Part of the Warsash School of Maritime Science and Engineering is on the eastern bank of the Hamble River overlooking Southampton Water, while Timsbury Lake is located in Timsbury.

Solent University is a comprehensive university offering programmes across five academic faculties, including the Faculty of Business, Law and Digital Technologies (which incorporates the Solent Business School and the Solent Law School), the Faculty of Creative Industries, Architecture and Engineering, the Faculty of Sport, Health and Social Science, and Warsash Maritime School.

Solent’s maritime courses have been ranked among the best in the world. The university generally has a growing reputation, and have been climbing the major league tables year on year – most recently reaching 81st place in the Guardian League Table in 2019.

The university also has strong links with local and regional businesses, professional bodies and industry groups, all with a focus on providing the best routes into the workforce (for example the British Computer Society, Creative Skillset and the PTC).

The university also has a dedicated Research, Innovation and Enterprise Office, providing cohesive support for research and innovation through a researcher development programme and the Research, Innovation and Knowledge Exchange Awards.



Fees and Scholarships


Other Facts

Scroll to Top