Key Information




The University of South Wales (USW) is a public university in Wales, which was formed on 11 April 2013 from the merger of the University of Glamorgan and the University of Wales, Newport. The university is the second largest university in Wales in terms of its student numbers, and offers around 500 undergraduate and postgraduate courses. The university has three main faculties across its campuses in South Wales.

It is one of Britain’s most exciting and ambitious universities. Innovative, thriving and sustainable, we work to build better futures for our students, our communities and our partners economically, socially and culturally.

USW is a vocationally-focused university, preparing students to support key industries now, and in the future. Employers work closely with USW to co-create curriculum that supports their future needs. This provides them with a skilled and relevant workforce that they can rely on with a large pipeline of graduates coming out of USW and our partner institutions each year. We are generating the workforce that employers tell us they want and need.

With three campuses in Cardiff, Newport and Pontypridd, USW is are well placed for its staff and students to enjoy all that South Wales has to offer. It works closely with the partner colleges, and have two wholly owned subsidiaries, the Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama and The College Merthyr Tydfil.



Fees and Scholarships


Other Facts

Scroll to Top